karigraceplace – A Lighthouse

How do you change your world? One word at a time, one heart at a time

The Value of a Life

omygosh. I don’t normally post two things in one day here but I can’t get over this.

http://pastorchrisjordan.wordpress.com/2012/10/11/rip-amanda-story-of-vancouver-teen-who-committed-suicide/#comment-784

I never got to hear her story so I didn’t really know all the details till now. So sad that nobody reached out and told her she had worth and value, dignity and beauty. Soul-searching, major… I pray the people of God will have the discernment to know when someone is hurting and just plain take the time to help. Joyce Meyer had these young guys on her show a while back who were so mature in Christ it just amazed me. She was saying how many want what they call “a ministry”, but all they see is a pulpit. He responded with simply this: we all have the ministry of “just being there”. How simple, yet profound. If somebody had, maybe Amanda and thousands like her would still be alive today. 1st Peter 3.3 and 4 are two of my fave verses in the New Testament. It talks about how the inside is way more important to the One who created us than the outside. I don’t know who said it or I’d give them a shout-out, but someone once said that a great man shows his greatness by the way he treats little men. It stuck with me. Even tho I happen to beleive there ARE no “little” men, I got his point. Where man sees insecurity and an opportunity to humiliate, God sees the precious soul He created and wants to be with for eternity. Many are in the valley of decision, according to Joel 3.14. My question is – what will we do about it? I for one will blog like never before, lifting up the One who took my place and bought my life with His own precious blood. The One who wrote my name on the palm of His hand, the One who calls me the apple of His eye, and will never no never no NEVER forsake me. How much more worth and dignity do you need? Beauty is fleeting, and charm is deceptive, according to proverbs 31.30, but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised. How I wish I could have told Amanda that.

Kari, the heart-broken

original content, copyright © 2000, karigraceplace.com, all rights reserved

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “The Value of a Life

  1. Love. This!! “The One who wrote my name on the palm of His hand, the One who calls me the apple of His eye, and will never no never no NEVER forsake me. How much more worth and dignity do you need? Beauty is fleeting, and charm is deceptive, according to proverbs 31.30, but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised. How I wish I could have told Amanda that.” Amen to that. Beautiful, just beautiful and as our daughters creep closer to adolescence we will continue to remind them of this!!

    • Thak you for your kind comments, Tracye. It’s much appreciated. I’m brand new to blogging but I’ve always loved to write. I love your blogs also! Thank you for being an iron sharpening me this day.

    • A friend told me her daughter had the coolest Tshirt. It simply said this:
      I’m to die for… just ask Jesus.
      Oh yeah! When I can find it in the budget to get some ink for the printer and special transfer paper I’m soooo gonna make this! Be encouraged dear new WP friend. I’d be honoured if you’d add me to your blogrole. I pray He will richly bless your adventures in blogging. Everyone else is coming out of the closet, so finally, I AM TOO! K

  2. Counsel4Living on said:

    And Jesus seeing the multitudes was moved with compassion…. Big heart for God Kari… Big heart 🙂

  3. thank you for your kind comments, woman of God

Leave a Reply

