karigraceplace – A Lighthouse

How do you change your world? One word at a time, one heart at a time

Improbable Saints

Wow. My Adventures in Blogging is gettin’ to be a regular thang! I must admit I’m totally enjoying it, in various shallow but nontheless pleasing ways. Sharing what’s on my mind, freely, without fear of recrimination. Way cool. Everybody else seems to be raising their voice; well, I am too!

Just this morning my mother phoned from jolly old England to share her latest news. She doesn’t exactly agree with my stance on all things spiritual but today, rather than defend myself, I simply shut up and, to a certain extent, shut down. If she’s not willing to hear what I have to say then I’m happy to save my breath. Along with Tim in 2 Timothy 1.12, I know in Whom I have believed. It gives me great peace.

She brought up the subject of sainthood, and I’m ashamed to say that my mind took off on a tangent at that point and didn’t take in a whole lot of what came next. I mean no disrespect to anyone living or dead, but who is man to decide who makes it to sainthood? Here’s a thought for you:

New American Standard Bible ~ Sing praise to the LORD, you His godly ones, and give thanks to His holy name.

King James Bible ~ Sing unto the LORD, O ye saints of His, and give thanks at the remembrance of His holiness.

If God Himself calls me a saint, not an ‘aint, then who am I to say different? Who are we to belittle others? Why do we seem to get all caught up in the shoulds and oughts of Christendom? If Jesus truly purchased our salvation at the cross of Calvary, what did He leave out? What didn’t His blood cover? Like I said, just a thought.

Kari, the thankful saint

original content, copyright © 2000, karigraceplace.com, all rights reserved

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

