karigraceplace – A Lighthouse

How do you change your world? One word at a time, one heart at a time

Mindblowing Monday

Well, OK, Friday. I learned a fact this morning that really made this redhead think. Interested? It’s this: if the cosmos had mass of 10 to the 27th power more, it would have imploded. If it had 10 to the 27th power less matter, it would have exploded out beyond itself. So say leading astrophysists. We also needed a moon to stabilize earth’s axis. Now tell me these things just happen and I’ll tell you you’re a fool. I say to all saints far and wide, come, let us gather together and tell God how good He is. My worship pastor says that’s God’s favourite song – God is good, and His mercy endures forever. They have a point. It’s all over the bible.
I found out today about a phenomenon “the experts” call The Pygmalion Effect. It basically theorizes that the greater the expectation placed upon people, the better they will perform. In 1966, Robert Rosenthal and Lenore Jacobson published the results of a powerful study later dubbed this title. Rosenthal and Jacobson’s research, conducted at an elementary school, was simple. Tell a few teachers and tell that they were the best teachers in the school and therefore had the most academically gifted students in their class that year. Untrue. Both teachers and students were randomly chosen. However, the study showed an amazing result – that teachers’ expectations could influence students’ intellectual abilities, to the point where they excel beyond their peers. To a tune of 32%, if memory serves. It’s all up to us. After all, God says as a man thinketh in his heart, so IS he, Proverbs 23.7 says. I’ve been in a hard time in my life for quite a while but I still CHOOSE to believe God is good, and that His mercy endures forever. That He’s working in my life when I don’t feel it, and don’t see it. That He knows everything about me, and still loves me. Army Captain Chris Plekenpol said something I pray I never forget – “You can never let your current circumstances determine the presence of God.” This, from a man who lost a soldier within 4 minutes of arrival. Yes, 4 minutes. Do I trust Him? Yes I do. Do I understand? No, I don’t. But I trust in His goodness. And faithfulness.

As a funny little take-away, Joseph Prince said something the other day that really made me think. Here’s a paraphrased version: When your relatives say, Wow! You look so young! Is it detox, or Botox? You can say, it’s NO tox! It’s all Jesus, man!

Kari, the often faithless but still loved

original content, copyright © 2000, karigraceplace.com, all rights reserved

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

