karigraceplace – A Lighthouse

How do you change your world? One word at a time, one heart at a time

But What About Grace?

Some have interpreted grace as unmerited favour. There’s a teaching out there commonly known as the Law of Attraction, which basically claims anything that you have in your life you’ve attracted, for good or for bad. In light of recent events I have a serious problem with this concept. Mainly, what did those precious children do in Colorado to be gunned down while at school? What on earth did they do in their few years of life that attracted such evil? What could their parents possibly have done that was so heinous they would get to spend Christmas in grief?
God says in Romans 3.10 that there is NONE righteous, which tells me we can’t do a thing to serve the good things our loving heavenly Father chooses to give us, but equally, we can’t do a thing to stop the enemy of our souls, the angel known as satan, from attacking us or bring destruction into the earth. After all, his MO is simple –to steal, kill and destroy, according to John 10.10. Not that I’m saying I subscribe to the, “whatever will be, will be,” theory either, because Hosea 4.6 says God’s people are destroyed for lack of knowledge, and 1 Peter 5.8 says that this same angel prowls around like a roaring lion seeking someone to devour, which tells me we’re not called to be passive, but we’re not to be the driving force of our life either. To me, it’s all about balance. If we believe Romans 8.28, which says all things work together for our good regardless of what circumstances may look like right then, and Ephesians 6.13, that says when we’ve done all we know to do, we’re called to, “stand”, then our actions will follow.
I used to wonder what God meant by, “stand”, but then I came across 2 Samuel 23.12. The story’s really short, but basically it’s all about a guy called Shammah. He’s one of what God calls, “David’s mighty warriors”, so that tells me he was one bad brother. All kinds of stuff was going on around them – the chapter’s full of small skirmishes within a bigger battle – but Shammah had passion. I’m not sure if the field actually belonged to him and his family or if he was just totally committed to David, but either way that dude wasn’t movin’. According to the NIV bible, verse 12 says Shammah “took his stand in the middle of the field; he defended it, and struck the Philistines down, and the Lord brought about a great victory.” Joyce Meyer once said, “a made-up mind is a powerful thing.” Simple, but to me, insightful. Some versions of that story says it was a field of lentils and some call them beans, but either way, for me it was a lesson in the value of determination. Dedication. In fact, the first time I read the story I heard this softly spoken to my heart; “them’s my beans!” I got the picture of an average guy who had nothing but persistence, digging in his heels, one who’d been fighting for hours and was past caring how he felt, his sword frozen in a hand that had cramped into place hours ago, a man who’d drawn a line in the proverbial sand and decided the enemy wasn’t getting past him. Period.
Over the years, that thought has come to mean so much more. Now it means souls. When I see hurting people on their way to an eternal place of torment I’m finally saying something. After all, them’s my beans. He who winneth souls is wise. And I want to win a whole lot of souls.
I truly believe that kind of radical fanatic attracts God’s attention. Even if it’s misguided, I’ll take passion any time. The author of a small book called The Shack, William P. Young, said, “I’ll take a verb over a noun, any day.” That struck a chord with me that ran deep. I’ll take someone who will add walk to their talk any day too. You?

Kari, the bean field defender
original content, copyright © 2000, karigraceplace.com, all rights reserved

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

