karigraceplace – A Lighthouse

How do you change your world? One word at a time, one heart at a time

Letting Go

Today started off like any other Saturday.  I had much on my to-do list, and not all of it got done.  But today my world changed, and I don’t believe it will ever be the same again. 

Milestones and transitions occur in many times in the course of a life, whether we happen to be ready for them or not.  Wikipedia defines rite of passage as “a ritual event that marks a person’s transition from one status to another”.  Well, today someone’s transition rocked me to my very core. My dear friend Caleb Brice died today.  I wish I could say my good friend, but he never really let me in to his heart, though I offered my friendship to him many times in the 20 years I’ve known him.  He was a quiet man, nothing like his siblings, most of whom tend to be pranksters.  I found him to be gentle.  Thoughtful.  Sensitive.  When you’re a member of a church for an extended length of time you get to see the children grow up, and every once in a while you get to invest in them, to speak into their lives.  I had such a privilege several times during this last year, and for that I’m grateful.  I wonder if that young man knew how very dearly he was loved.

It’s hard to prepare for the unexpected.  I for one often put things off, thinking I’ll have another chance to make it right, but the bible says we’re not promised tomorrow.  I’m so grateful I had the chance to tell him just how much I care for him.  Many don’t get that privilege.  I know he’s alive and well in heaven, and that I’ll see him some day.  Forgive me if today I’m a little bit selfish.  My heart is grieved for the loss of a precious little boy in a man’s body who touched the heart of many.  God alone knows how much I’ll miss him.

 

Kari, the thankful for her friends, young and old, here and hereafter

original content, copyright © 2000, karigraceplace.com, all rights reserved

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

