karigraceplace – A Lighthouse

How do you change your world? One word at a time, one heart at a time

Gone A-Fishing

The Message Bible has a rendering of Psalm 9.11 I really love: Sing your songs to Zion-dwelling God; tell His stories to everyone you meet.  Several men in my life have told me I way-overanalyze things.  That may be true.  But I’d rather think too much than not think at all.  One subject I find myself pondering on a regular basis is simply this: am I making an eternal difference in anybody’s life?   Am I using the days God has given me to their fullest?  Sometimes I think not.  Life seems to have a way of getting in the way of my plans on a regular basis. 

Kerry Shook says that life is preparation for eternity.  Ouch!  I know that what we do with Christ here on this earth dictates where we spend that eternity.  It feels like I’m going through my few years spent on this small planet on cruise control.  I know where I’m headed.  But am I taking others with me?

I saw a video recently produced by three ex-terrorists that was truly thought-provoking.  My favourite story was the conversion of one of these wise and passionate men.  It’s kind of long, but fascinating.  He talked of how these three random men – or so he thought – came randomly into his perfect life – or so he thought – and the effect they each had in his life.  He said this, and it stuck with me: “They woke up, put their fisher net on their shoulder, and went looking for the fresh catch of the day…”  Which turned out to be him.  When Jesus comes into a life it changes the whole game.

All God’s children are called to, “go and make disciples”, according to Matthew 28.19. Like my pastor is apt to say, “two thirds of God’s name is GO!”  How am I doing in regard to the great co-mission?  Am I sharing the precious treasure inside of me?  Or is my plan getting in the way of His plan?  Have I, like Peter, gone a-fishing?  Am I trying to fish on the wrong side of the boat?  Doing things in the flesh?  Am I what a very wise young man once suggested, “Spirit led and manna fed”?  I pray the latter, but I fear it’s often the former.  Have I honestly done anything with this life I’ve been given that’s made an eternal difference?  Well, that’s one of the reasons I so believe in blogging.  All the rest of the world is sharing their philosophies – maybe nobody but Unshakable Hope and two good friends actually read my stuff, but I’ve come to the conclusion that if anything I ever say changes a life, then my life was worth the living.  I try not to forget my fisher net every day I leave the house, so I can be ready at any time to tell It may be a tad morbid to share this but I’ve decided what I want on my tombstone: “she made a difference”.  I’m determined to use my time, talent, and treasure to do my very best with the one shot I get at making an eternal difference, to share about the Lover of my soul any day, anywhere, any way He makes a way.  Just remind me when I forget, OK?

 

Kari, the fisher-woman

original content, copyright © 2000, karigraceplace.com, all rights reserved

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

