karigraceplace – A Lighthouse

How do you change your world? One word at a time, one heart at a time

A Father’s Love

Father love.  These words are often incomprehensible to me.  I feel like the Australian shark in the movie Finding Nemo – I never knew my father…

Psalm 68.6 says that God Himself sets the lonely in families, and claims He’s a Father to the fatherless.  Like many other people I didn’t have a perfect childhood; both my parents were emotionally, often physically, absent.  I wasn’t a great parent either.  I’m convinced part of it was because I never had a role model.  Hindsight is always 20/20 – if I’d knew better I’d have done better, but I didn’t.  I find I often have to forgive myself, on a daily basis, for all the mistakes I made with my children.  I do know love them and am committed to them, wanting their highest and best.  I know I wasn’t physically absent.  I may have been emotionally absent at times, since I was in a really hurting place due to a painful divorce.  I was dealing with many self-esteem issues myself and like Mother Teresa once said, you can’t give to a hurting world what you don’t have on the inside.  I wasn’t always there for my precious babies like I should have been, would like to have been, but I did the best I could with what I had to work with.  It’s really all about trust.  How do you trust someone you don’t know?  I didn’t know the love of the One who loved me, sought for me, died for me.  Many claim to know Christ but their actions deny their words.  I want to know my heavenly Father more and more every day, and I want that change of heart to show on the outside.  I’d rather be a 1st Peter 3.4 gal, with my beauty coming from the heart.  God considers that way more precious than a fine outside.  He should know.  In 1 Samuel 16.7 David’s oldest bro looked good, talked good, fought good, but God didn’t give him a second look.  Margaret Wolfe Hungerford once said that beauty is in the eye of the beholder.  It amazes me that God finds beauty within me, a feisty redhead who loses shells and loses sleep.  But He says He does, and He never lies.  How amazing it is to me that He considers me worth His time.  Another thing I’ve learned in life that character trumps shallow every time.  You?

 

Kari, the Fathered-by-God

original content, copyright © 2000, karigraceplace.com, all rights reserved

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “A Father’s Love

  1. That’s good, Kari! As I was reading your post, I thought about the following verse – “…though you have not seen Him, you love Him, and though you do not see Him now, but believe in Him, you greatly rejoice with joy inexpressible and full of glory…” (1 Peter 1:8)

Leave a Reply

