karigraceplace – A Lighthouse

How do you change your world? One word at a time, one heart at a time

Running on Empty

A verse I really love and have been thinking quite a bit about recently is Colossians 3.15, where it tells us to let peace be the umpire of our soul.  I’m not that into sports, probably because I’ve never really known anyone who had the time to explain the rules and transfer passion for a sport to a very random redhead, but every once in a while they do touch my life slightly.  So I have a question for you today.  Did you ever think of your life as a baseball game?  Me neither, but apparently, God thinks they have a lot in common. 

Hebrews 12.14 says that we’re to make every effort to live in peace as far as depends on us, and 1 Peter 3.11 says we’ve got to seek peace and pursue it.  Which tells me you’ve got to fight for it.  And a heart at peace makes for a wonderful life.  I’m not completely there, but I’m glad to be on my way.

Many seem to think they have the right to share a piece of their mind that, in my opinion, they can’t afford to lose.  So many will cut you with the sword, but they forget to follow through with the balm of Gilead.  Yes, we’re called to share the truth, but we’re to do it in love.  What’s our motivation?  Do we affirm the person and attack the problem?  Or do we have it the wrong way around?  Do we care more about the person than what they think of us?  Are we willing to share hard truths in a Godly way?  The older I get the more I’m analyzing the reasons why I think and act the way I do.  I’m a work under construction, so be patient with me.  I’m so glad His mercies are new every single morning.  My pastor says that it’s because we must need them… Just a thought.  If my middle name is Grace, and it is, am I willing to be full of it?

 

Kari, the lover and fighter

original content, copyright © 2000, karigraceplace.com, all rights reserved

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

