karigraceplace – A Lighthouse

How do you change your world? One word at a time, one heart at a time

The Brightest Crayon in the Box

Have you ever heard the expression, “the elevator doesn’t go all the way to the top?”  I was thinking about this today, because of an experience recently.  The Latin translation of thankful is actually thinkful.  When I discovered that, the word “thankful” took on a whole new meaning for me.  Two people God has allowed in my life for a short time, Dug and Gary, taught me a facet of a thankful life I had never experienced before, and I’m forever grateful to them.  Right now I’m thankful for elevators.  Well, actually, I dislike them intensely.  They make me feel like the bottom has dropped out of my world – well, OK, just my stomach.  Either way, I really don’t like elevators.  The way they drop at the start of the trip and abruptly slow down at the end messes with my insides.  But three days ago a good friend of mine was hauling a ton of stuff.  By the end of the day I was thankful for elevators.  She was blessing someone with a lot of books, and the boxes were really heavy.  I seriously considered the stairs, but it was a long day and I had one more thing to be thankful for and thinkful for.  The legwork was enough, without the added blessing of an abs and arm workout.  What are you thankful for today?  Just look around and you’ll find a few unexpected ones.  I’m in my right mind, and I’m 5 feet 3 inches above ground.  I’m not in pain in a hospital some place dying of cancer.  I have eyes to see, ears to hear, and people to love.  Most of all, I have a Father who thinks the world of me.  How can I lose with a life like that?  Let me know what you’re thankful for and thinkful for.

 

Kari, the very brightest, very thinkful crayon

original content, copyright © 2000, karigraceplace.com, all rights reserved

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

