karigraceplace – A Lighthouse

How do you change your world? One word at a time, one heart at a time

Compelled By Compassion

Reinhard Bonnke said that loveless people cannot share the gospel – it would be a sham. How many times have I been one? Pastor Bryan’s teaching yesterday really got to me. Starting with communion. How simple but profound. I’d never really thought about it that way – if your car isn’t functioning on all cylinders it’ll make for a rough ride. How many times have I been guilty of the same? Living with gunk in my spirit, yet not taking time to pray for the Lover of my soul to remove it? And traps? Oh yeah. So powerful. I got a multitude of lessons yesterday. Like I’m closer to freedom than I think – only a prayer away, in fact. Like not to condemn myself when I fall into the same trap, day after day, and that if I do, rather than feel guilty for falling for the lie I need to repent and move on. Like sometimes you can stand on one side of the trap but you need a sista or brother help you stand on the other side to become free. Like the story of the elephant. How powerful. Do you know it? In case you don’t, I’ll give you the CliffNotes version. Hunters trap the while they’re babies and attach a metal band to their leg. They struggle and struggle, sometimes for days, but finally accept that they can’t break free. Years go by and they become big and strong, yet they never test the limits imposed upon them by an outside unknown force. As soon as they feel the familiar tug they accept their bondage. They know no other way. I refuse to be a baby elephant. I don’t care how long I have to believe for my freedom, it’s still a better way to live than acceptance. Pastor Bryan also talked of conviction verses condemnation. He said that the God of conviction is very different from the god of condemnation, and had a completely different agenda.
I’ve made another decision. Apart from a renewed determination to walk in the freedom my precious Jesus purchased for me with His very life, I’m also committed to helping others do the same. How ‘bout you?

Kari, the freely receiving and freely giving
original content, copyright © 2000, karigraceplace.com, all rights reserved

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

