karigraceplace – A Lighthouse

How do you change your world? One word at a time, one heart at a time

The Road Less Travelled

Crossroads Christianity. Wow. The words hit me like a freight train. Now that’ll make a redhead think. So I just thought I’d share a lightbulb moment — – don’t wait for the fork in the road to decide how you’re going to act. Decide beforehand. I learned that from Creflo Dollar. I’ll explain what I mean by that a bit later. For now, just know I’ll choose the narrow way, every time, no contest. Been on the wide one, bought way too many Tshirts. In 1920 Robert Frost penned a beautiful poem by the name, The Road Not Taken. I highly recommend the reading of it. The last line in particular is very powerful. He said that when two roads diverged in a wood he “took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference.” How I long to say that at the end of my life. Maybe that sounds a tad morbid, but it’s still true.
Someone once said that sin is future bondage wrapped up in present pleasure. Truer words have rarely been spoken. Like Dan Mohler says, from “little up” we’re trained that way. After all, if it feels good, do it.
I’ve shared it before but it’s worth repeating; Joyce says a made-up mind is a powerful thing, and Cref once said that if you make a decision beforehand, if you’re ever in the moment of choice it’s a no-brainer. Yes, he was talking about lust, but it goes for any weakness of the flesh. Decide while you’re in a safe place and all that’s left is the follow-thru. Knowledge puffs up, but love edifies. He said he looked up the word ‘fullness’, and it means ‘a house with no empty rooms’. Oh, may God give me that kind of a life. A heart. A spirit. How can people resist such a love?
George Carlin once said that we should throw out irrelevant numbers… like age, weight, height… I happen to agree. It makes for a lot more peace, and very little defensiveness.
One of my biggest desires in life is to see others succeed, especially those who have less going for them than others. Jesse du Plantis has said that people often take a moment and make it into a lifetime. For good and for bad. To me that explains a lot about mental problems. A teenage child I know well totally wigged out at the age of 15, and started cutting. They totally flipped. Their mother, someone I’m very close to, watched as her child was diagnosed as ADD, suicidal, and depressed. Apparently the child had a thing for bridges. I’m assuming as in to jump off. God says in 2nd Timothy chapter one verse 7 that He has given us the Spirit of power, love, and a sound mind. This child used to know that God, but they made life-defining decisions that distanced Him, the only One who could help them.
This is the kind of vid you’ve got to watch again, and again, and again. Good stuff, I promise. Real grow-up stuff.

Kari, the less-travelled-road traveller
original content, copyright © 2000, karigraceplace.com, all rights reserved

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

