karigraceplace – A Lighthouse

How do you change your world? One word at a time, one heart at a time

Stuck in a Ditch

Few people seem to be what Kerry Shook calls “ditching second-hand religion for a first-hand faith”. In fact, truth be told I see a whole lot more religion and legalism than relationship and passion when it comes to a loving heavenly Father that died to save the souls of His people. In the words of Ted Dekker, “in times past our history has been retold using simple metaphors. Light coming in darkness; a land called Narnia set free by a lion; a ring that would enslave the hearts of all.”
I’ve always been a reader and I seem to learn more from fiction than I do from non-fiction. Take a for-instance – Ted’s novels Black, White, Red, and Green. In the front of the last book he encourages you to “dive deep into the world of colors”, calling the books ‘the Circle Series’, meaning it doesn’t really matter which book you start with because although the books are a series they can also stand alone; the way they’re written, any one you start with will make sense within the series yet will not detract from any other.
I have to admit the very first one he wrote, Black, just happened to be my favorite. It’s not warm fuzzy reading though, it’s pure heart-pounding action. To me, as I was reading, it became clear to me the book was all about man’s search for significance. The oldest story known to man. Looking to ourselves for the meaning of life. Black tells the story of two worlds, and the fall of one of them. Which has much biblical significance for me. The concept is nothing new. Ephesians 6 tells us that there indeed are two worlds – the natural and the spiritual – and we all know about Adam in the garden of Eden. As I writer myself I so appreciate those who have the gift to take biblical principles and make them applicable and understandable to the unlearned. Just like Jesus, who used everyday scenarios to teach kingdom principles for daily life. Our Lord and Savior was so out of the box in His thinking and actions, a freedom I crave in my own life. Stories like this give me a new take on an old theme, helping me experience afresh the beauty and pain of truths I sometimes find myself way too familiar with, and therefore take for granted. Today I highly encourage you to rethink foundational truths in a whole new way. Making sure you’re totally in line with scripture, yes, but seeing them with fresh eyes. It will ignite a passion in your heart for the Lover of your soul, I promise. And you won’t be able to keep it to yourself.
Kari, the ditch remover
original content, copyright © 2000, karigraceplace.com, all rights reserved

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

