karigraceplace – A Lighthouse

How do you change your world? One word at a time, one heart at a time

Hey There Beautiful

He will ‘beautify the humble with salvation.’ Or at least, one Psalmist seemed to think so. 149 and verse 4 to be precise. The writer of Ecclesiastes on the other hand, a rather small an obscure book that makes great reading when ya can’t sleep, believed that God makes all things beautiful in its time. Not sure when mine’s due, but there ya go… Chapter 3 verse 11, FYI.
Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, or so I was told my whole childhood. Well, God thinks I rock. Even on my worst days. He thinks you do too. It all boils down to love. What’s love got to do with it? Everything. I owe a debt of love. A debt I’ll never be able to pay. But the holder of the note never asked me to. And that makes me free to be me. A dear friend once told me we’re human BEings, not human DOings. I call it “the Martha Syndrome”. So many well-meaning people are trying to do things to please their Father when, if they would just accept it, they already do. He knows all about me, the good the bad and the ugly, and He still loves me. If that doesn’t give a redhead confidence to face the giants in life, nothing will.
As a side note, Tony Dungy once said that there are two kinds of men in life: those who are humble… and those who are about to be. Just a thought.
I’ve been called many things in life – I’m sure you have too – but God says it was worth the life of His very own Son to get me back into the family. I have, however, learned that disobedience produces distance. If you have kids you probably already know this. It’s not that you love one more than another, you’re just closer to them at that moment in time. Been there done that bought many T-shirts. Wondering if they’ll ever learn the lesson. Then I remember that my heart is very “prone to wander”, as Robert Robinson so succinctly put it in his wonderful hymn, Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing. On a regular basis. And that to get love I have to give it. I’m so thankful love covers a multitude of sins. Cos I sure need it. How ‘bout you?
For your listening pleasure: http://cyberhymnal.org/htm/c/o/comethou.htm
Kari, the beautified and gloried
original content, copyright © 2000, karigraceplace.com, all rights reserved

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

