karigraceplace – A Lighthouse

How do you change your world? One word at a time, one heart at a time

Lest We Offend

I’m feeling feisty this morning. Sorry if that offends anyone but it’s true. I’m sick of being told by a culture that doesn’t know and doesn’t serve the One who gave them life telling me what I can and cannot do and say. Someone I highly respect breezed through here recently in what the English call “a flying visit” and boy, did he leave a deposit in me!!!

Pat Schazline is the kind of guy you either love or hate, but passion draws me like a magnet. Even if I don’t agree with what you’re passionate about I respect the trait deeply. Pat recently wrote a book called “I Am Remnant” and I have only one thing to say about it: like Kenneth Copeland said once, “If that don’t light your fire your wood is wet!” He addresses many issues prevalent in our culture and exposes the whole “politically correct” theology. My Father sent His Son to die for me, so if He considers me worth dying for I surely consider Him worth living for! Even to the point of speaking up when I’m in a hostile environment. My pastor mentioned 1st Peter 5 verses 8 and 9 yesterday, and taught on balance. I’ve been accused many times of being too heavenly minded, but I happen to disagree. I have a lot of friends from all religions and all walks of life so I’m obviously earth-good enough that I can connect with my fellow homo sapiens. Pastor Al said we’re “living in different days” and how we “have to be watchful”. Sin always separates, but I meet many who insist on living like the world on Friday and shuck and buck with the best of them two days later. You can’t get figs from thistles, or so the NKJ version of Matthew 7.16 believes. I heard Joyce Meyer ask a rather profound question, which she tends to do, but this one totally got my attention that day: are people squeezing your fruit? After all, we’re known by it. What do people see when they squeeze me? Not always what I’d like for them to see, I admit. But one thing gives me hope. I know who I am and Whose I am. If nothing else, that alone will help me to act right, live right, even talk right. A good friend, Debbie, shared something yesterday you also might be interested in. She said God is not a Santa Clause – if I’m good I’m gonna get. He’s so not about works. He’s all about relationship. When it comes to God, the words of another friend, Scott, come to mind: It’s only for the hungry. He says if we seek Him we’ll find Him, but many I meet are just too busy to take the time to do it. John Bevere says you will sever what you fear, and asked recently, “do you want popularity, or effectiveness?” Definitely the latter, in my opinion. And the only way I will be is if I spend time with the Author of life itself. I’ve learned you can teach a man to fish but you can’t make him drink the water. You’re on your own, Jack. Nobody can do it for you. Nope. If we want close encounters of the God kind, and I surely do, I’ve got to get it for myself. He’s a moving God, so I’ve got to move with the cloud, but if I’m out of touch with His Spirit I won’t notice when He’s done with something. I don’t want to be left behind, I want to be close to the front in what He’s doing in the earth. I want His heartbeat to be mine. Are you in?

http://www.covenantlovechurch.org/clc-media/sermons/message/the-simeon-cry/watch

Stay blessed!

Kari, the slightly outrageous but very devout

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

