karigraceplace – A Lighthouse

How do you change your world? One word at a time, one heart at a time

It Matters

A colleague reminded me last week of a lesson I’d forgotten. It’s the story of how powerful one action can be. If you’re at all interested, please feel free to read on:
I was given a copy of a poem that’s been on my fridge for ever, but I’m afraid my fridge is rather “busy”. Always has been. So this poem gets lost in the shuffle. Since my colleague brought it back to my remembrance I thought I’d share it with my fellow bloggers.

IT MATTERS TO THIS ONE
As I walked along the seashore, this young boy greeted me.
He was tossing stranded starfish back to the deep blue sea.
I said, “Tell me why you bother, why waste your time this way?
There’s a million stranded starfish – does it matter, anyway?”

He said, “It matters to this one. It deserves a chance to grow.
It matters to this one; I can’t save them all, I know.
But it matters to this one: I’ll return it to the sea.
It matters to this one, and it matters to me.

I walked into the classroom; the teacher greeted me.
She was helping Johnny study: he was struggling, I could see.
I said, “Tell me why you bother, why waste your time this way?
Johnny’s only one of millions – does it matter, anyway?”

She said, “It matters to this one. He deserves a chance to grow.
It matters to this one; I can’t save them all, I know.
But it matters to this one: I’ll help him be what he can be.
It matters to this one, and it matters to me.”

Nothing in all the world is more dangerous than sincere ignorance and conscientious stupidity -M. L. King

Does the “one” in our life matter? I happen to believe they do.
Kari, the focused and caring
almost all original content, copyright © 2000, karigraceplace.com, all rights reserved

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

