karigraceplace – A Lighthouse

How do you change your world? One word at a time, one heart at a time

Preachin’ To The Choir

I just heard a current stat that absolutely floored me. 98% of all preachers are preaching to 4% of the world’s population. How do we reconcile that with obedience to Mark 16 verse 15, Go ye into all the world and make disciples? Not to mention, Preach the gospel to every creature? Are we laying down on the job? Are we doing a good job of the Great Commission? Is God pleased with us? All these thoughts and more are running around in this redhead’s head today. There are those who are obeying this mandate, obviously, but apparently the majority of those called to preach elsewhere… are not.

Maybe it’s just me but I’m about to turn 50 something and I’ve begun thinking more and more about the inevitable and sometimes impending day of judgment. I’m not sinless, but I strive to live a righteous holy life every day through the power of the Holy Spirit. To the best of my ability I am fulfilling, in part, my calling from Papa, Abba, the lover of my soul and the stronghold of my life: to write.

Every one of us has a calling from the Most High God, and we will all be held accountable one day for what we did and didn’t do. We are not judged by any other standard but obedience. I asked myself today a hard question – am I so addicted to creature comforts that I’m unwilling to go where He sends me? I’m totally OK for my stories to reach “the uttermost parts of the earth”, but me? Not so much. Have I really left all to follow Him? I like to think so, but when those ‘rubber meets the road’ moments happen I see plainly how far I fall short. As usual, I find myself thankful that His mercies are, indeed, “new every morning.” I’m living proof.

I want to live my life in such a way that, like Saint Augustine once said, I preach the gospel at all times, if necessary using words. I also want to take a whole truckload of others with me when I leave here. My prayer today is that I complete another part of my life mission, Proverbs 11.30, “he that winneth souls is wise.” Maybe not face to face, but I can write. I have no fear of man any more, I graduated with an A in Peopleology and I don’t give a flying fart in space what they think any more, since the only One I live to please is the One who died to give me life.

This bright and chilly North Carolina day my only prayer is this: may my words be anointed, and bring lost souls into the kingdom of God. Dear reader, I pray the same for you – may you fulfill all of the calling upon your life, and profoundly influence your generation and eternity to come.

Kari, the pen in the hand of an eternal God

all original content, copyright © 2000, karigraceplace.com, all rights reserved

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

