karigraceplace – A Lighthouse

How do you change your world? One word at a time, one heart at a time

Buff Enough

For all those truly saved, sanctified and filled with the Holy Ghost men out there, an enquiring mind really does want to know. But I’ll get to that later. Right now I have a story to share. It’s short, I promise.
Today is a special day for me. It only comes around every 365 days or so, and it’s a miracle. I’m 50 something today, and I shouldn’t even be here. Ask, and I’ll tell. But back to the story.
While in the grocery store recently, minding my own business, I was reminded afresh why certain people are no longer in my life. Let me explain.
The guy in front of me was grabbing his grocery bags and I wasn’t really paying attention because, like I said, I was minding my own business. Then I heard my name. I looked up and recognized a guy who used to be in my church, and used to be in my life. Four years ago. It had to do with a motorbike. One of my secret sins is an obsession for motorbikes. That’s how he got into my life. I never said I didn’t have surface moments.
This guy occasionally calls me, and hints that he wants back in my life. I think it’s when he’s between girlfriends but I could be wrong. I always refuse. With good reason. Here’s why.
The next statement after my name was, “You’re not working out any more, are you?”
After getting over the shock of that, and not really thinking ahead, I walked right into it.
“Why?” I asked.
“’Cos you’re not as buff as when I knew you.”
Wow. How to win friends and influence people. Now I had to deal with being insulted in public. Which took me a minute. Then I thought, ‘Yep, there’s a reason you’re no longer in my life… now I remember why.’
First of all I had a big wooly sweater on, and there was no way he could make an informed decision.
Second, I was dirty and smelly since I’d just come from the dog park.
Third, it was all I could do to bite back, “Well, Mr. Atlas, have ya looked in the mirror recently?!!!”
But, being the good little Christian that I am, that wouldn’t be a good witness now would it? Still, I was sorely tempted.
I decided to keep my eyes on Him and not on the waves. After a quick prayer heavenward I was able to make small talk as we walked outside but it surely was a crossroads moment. Things could have gotten very ugly. I still remember BC. Apparently a few people I know have some unrealistic expectations of their own.
Now the question: For all those truly saved, sanctified and filled with the Holy Ghost men out there, an enquiring mind really does want to know – how buff is buff enough? How buff does a 50 something single gal have to be, to be acceptable in your eyes? Do tell. Then I’ll have a goal to work towards. I’m so very thankful for Ephesians 1.6. I’m accepted in the Beloved. Will you do the same?
Kari, the not-buff-but-content-in-Jesus gal
all original content, copyright © 2000, karigraceplace.com, all rights reserved

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

