karigraceplace – A Lighthouse

How do you change your world? One word at a time, one heart at a time

Dreamin’

It’s been a while since I blogged and I just can’t stand it anymore – I have to speak up.  Calling all dreamers…

I’m wired to be an encourager, and the older I get the more I enjoy being behind others, helping them fulfill their own dreams.  However, just today I was reminded that this ain’t necessarily so.

I have this really weird weakness, one I’m man enough to admit to.  I’m attracted to passion.  You can steer a moving car.  Apathy repels me, in fact.  On that sensitive subject, one of my biggest hot buttons is dream killers.  Dream stealers I can handle; when I did a little deeper I find they’ve often lost their own dreams and are just hurt and wounded.  A stolen dream I can get back real quick, usually the moment I leave.

Dream killers are another breed entirely.  They will not only kill it, they’ll stomp on it, spit on it, and usually stuff it in the trash bin, throwing a whole lot of garbage on top of it.  Now that takes a little longer to reclaim.

In Genesis 37 verse 19 the New Living Translation says something that has stuck with me over the years.  “Here comes the dreamer!”  I love being around dreamers, and builders.  I feel refreshed and rejuvenated when I walk away.  I want to be like that.

I have many privileges in life, and try hard not to take them lightly.  One of them is the wonderful blessing to work out with a small group of gals.  If I make it to her house when she’s having it, I get to participate.  She trains women for free.  Just because she can.  She’s about 4 foot 9 and around 102 pounds.  When I grow up I want to be a lot like her.  She’s amazingly strong.  Looks can be extremely deceiving.  I call her the Paminator.  If you came, you’d know why.

My brain is always working, always creating stories, so I tend to forget lessons learned sometimes.  This morning was a classic reminder of this.  Three on-fire, Holy Ghost filled, normally edifying women can turn on a dime.  I made the mistake of sharing a dream close to my heart, and lived to tell the tale.  Faster than a speeding bullet, those same tongue-talking, Word-walking women became dream killers.  They will usually tell you all kinds of encouraging verses, in any given situation.  Unless, apparently, you talk about becoming a writer.  Sharing stories you believe will change your world.  Caveat emptor (buyer beware.)  Makes me thing of the quaint English phrase, “here be dragons”.  History says this was written on maps where in regions they had yet to explore, as a warning that this was uncharted territory.  Except this was, for me.  I just forgot.

I spent the next 20 minutes on the drive home reviving the dream.  Hopefully this lesson will be learned for permanent, and I won’t bring up that subject again.  I’m not like that.  It’s hard for me to be around someone who is one way in a certain situation and another in a different one.  I’m pretty much the same wherever I am, whoever I’m with.  Happy, bubbly, talkative, creative, loving, a highly people-person: that’s me.  And I love investing in dreams.  My own, and others.

So I’m begging you today, dear reader, don’t be a dream stealer.  Or a dream killer.   Be a dream builder.  John Maxwell once said that he wanted to be a dream builder and a people builder.  Me too.  It will make for a much better world.  Just a thought.

Kari, the dreamer

all original content, copyright © 2000, karigraceplace.com, all rights reserved

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

