karigraceplace – A Lighthouse

How do you change your world? One word at a time, one heart at a time

Of Hobbies, Habits, and Hobbits

It’s sad, I know, but I cannot deny I’m random.  I’m nothing if not divided.  As hard as I try, focus is not something that comes easily to me.  A friend of mine is always telling me, “Kari!  Focus!!!”  And she does have a point.  However, I tend to dream.  Often. And I love dreamers.  George Moore once said reality can destroy a dream, so why shouldn’t a dream destroy reality?  I totally love Joseph, too, for many reasons, not the least of which is that he refused to give up on his dream.  I’ve said it before, but it might be something you need to hear today.  In Genesis 37 verse 19 the New Living Translation says “Here comes the dreamer!”  It happens to be one of my favourite verses.  How I thrive when I’m around dreamers, and builders.  I leave refreshed, rejuvenated, even if I am soooo not passionate about the object of their dream.  Enthusiasm is very enticing to me, for some reason, and those with it draw me like a moth to a flame.  Embarrassing, but true.

As you might have guessed, not only am I completely random but I have many, many interests I happen to be passionate about, not the least of which happen to be C S Lewis.  And reading.  And bike riding.  Hence the “hobbies, habits and hobbits” title  in reverse order.  Fiction really floats my boat, for some reason; I rarely watch or read anything, labeled “Christian” or otherwise, that doesn’t teach me something.  From the movie Tomorrowland to the book The Invention of Fire by Bruce Holsinger, I’m learning spiritual lessons like never before.  It seems the longer I’m His, the more God teaches me in the most random of places.  So I figure it’s not completely my fault.  That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

I’ll be the first to admit I’m not, in the words of Joyce Meyer, “some sweet saintlet”.  I believe mundane everyday life gut-kicks character, every time, and that a praying woman will win a man faster than an arguing one, but I still forget these foundational principals more often than I care to think.  I will even admit I’ve been known to pray bless it or blow it up, whatever the IT is at the time of my prayer.  That’s one of my constants. My pastor, James Al Brice, said once, “Don’t mistake my enthusiasm for fanaticism!  Enthuse means in-Goded!”  I’ve been accused of many things over the years, but underwhelming someone with my enthusiasm ain’t one of them.

Graham Cooke says, “Passion never allows you to see yourself as a failure. Everything is useful in our development. Mistakes, humiliation, defeats and obstacles are as valuable as success, achievement, victory and breakthrough. Passion wastes nothing. Passion always learns and always overcomes. Passion is belief in action.”  Just like Jesus, using even the fragments to bless someone somewhere… sounds kind of like my life.

… As for happy endings?  I look to God to write the final chapter. But in the mean time, I choose to live in love.  You?

Kari, the in-Goded

all original content, copyright © 2000, karigraceplace.com, all rights reserved

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

