karigraceplace – A Lighthouse

How do you change your world? One word at a time, one heart at a time

Blazing Saddles

A guy I highly respect who goes by the name of Kenneth Copeland said something once that gave me cause for concern.  Which is amazing, because I’ve been watching him for 20 something years and never found a thing to dispute him on.  It wasn’t what he said, it was the repercussions that could come from it if you weren’t rooted and grounded in your bible.

I don’t remember the exact words but it amounted to simply this: if one person tells you you have a problem, ignore them; if two say it, think about it; if three tell you, “ship your saddle home”, which I could only interpret to mean, “don’t be an ass – listen to them!”  (Hence the title of this humble blog…)

Which premise I would agree with, in most circumstances.  Do you feel a “but” coming?  Well, there is one.  And it’s a biggie.

In this current climate of political correctness I’ve never been one to conform much.  I take after a real good friend of mine in that respect.  His name is Jesus.  You may have heard of him.

I’ve met a whole lot of men in my life and I’ve let a whole lot of fine trunks pass on by for one reason.  Yesterday night I had to revisit the same discussion again with a different face but the same belief and I’m getting really tired of it.  Where in the bible does it tell you that when God said, “be holy, even as I am holy”, and “those who come before Me must regard Me as holy”    … unless of course you’re living in the 21st century, and then all those commandment things go out of the window…

I don’t know if you’ve guessed it but I’ve never been a lemming and at the age of 50 something I don’t intend to start.  Like my pastor says, any dead fish can float downstream; it takes a live one to swim against the current.  Nobody’s ever accused me of being a dead fish. I’m not men-bashing and I’m not a man-hater I promise.  This is more like Custer’s Last Stand. I have a question for all you saved and sanctified and filled with the Holy Ghost single men out there, and it comes in two parts: a) why is it such a problem for a gal to want a guy to protect her reputation rather than destroy it? and b) when a guy has a serious fight with a gal about one of her core boundaries (namely, no sex before marriage) on their very first official outing together and decides not to ever talk to her again because of the disagreement, where’s the love?

Love protects.  Love defends.  Love sacrifices.  Or it did last time I read 1st Corinthians 13.  If you are willing to dismiss one of my major boundaries so viciously, what will you respect?  There’s a reason I’m single.  I was reminded of it last night.  I get that apparently I have a great body.  Which I would disagree with.  And apparently I’m also a tad sexy.  Which I would also disagree with.  But holding on to my core values doesn’t make me a dictator: it means I have a different opinion than them.  Which, last time I checked, I had the God-given right to hold in the land of the free and the home of the brave.

A wise woman once told me, “Upper Room men get Upper Room women.”  It rocked my world and changed my theology significantly.  Am I lonely?  Occasionally.  Am I sorry?  Never.  You?

Kari, the fiercely independent but in love with her Jesus

all original content, copyright © 2000, karigraceplace.com, all rights reserved

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

