karigraceplace – A Lighthouse

How do you change your world? One word at a time, one heart at a time

Thanks Giving Living

Happy Thanksgiving to anyone and everyone I know and don’t know out there in the world wide webiverse.  I’ll make this post short and sweet, with just one thing to ponder or not as you choose, dear reader, but it has shaped my life significantly.

What could have such a radical effect on a random redhead? you murmur.  I’m glad you asked.  The word Thanksgiving.  Many say it but few live it.  Me included.  Until the day I learned the root word.

Most things in life I seem to learn the hard way, but this one came easy.  A total stranger asked me if I knew the root word of Thanksgiving.  To my shame I had to admit I did not.  Which was why I used the word just as flippantly as most do in this journey some call life.  After being issued such a challenge, this inquiring mind wanted to know.

The root work of Thanks-giving is actually Thanks-Living.  Which brings a whole new meaning to Psalm 118.24.  And Psalm 150.6.  And many others.  It rocked my world then, and still does today.

Whenever I start to feel depressed or irritated or just plain awnery I remind myself to think about all the things I have to be thankful for.  Before I know it I’ll be so full of gratitude for all my Father has done for me and given me, it will go from ‘faith it till you make it’ to sincere praise.  And you’d be surprised how a few thank-full days in a row can turn into thanks-Living.  Seriously. It’ll sneak up on you if you’re not careful. You can be living with the Grouch whole Stole Christmas and Tigger and Eyore all in the same house and you’ll still have a song in your heart.  Try it – I promise you’ll like it!

Happy ThanksLiving!

Kari, the Thanks-Liver

all original content, copyright © 2000, karigraceplace.com, all rights reserved

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

