karigraceplace – A Lighthouse

How do you change your world? One word at a time, one heart at a time

Barn and Noble

Growing up in England introduces you to a whole lot of idioms.  One of my special faves, something I was asked frequently as a young child, is – “Were you born in a barn?!!!”  Had I known then what I know now I would have responded, “No, but Jesus was.”

How ironic, even oxymoronic, that the King of kings would be born in a barn.  Nobility laid aside and humility embraced.  Luke makes this quite clear, though some theologians disagree; I believe it doesn’t really matter whether  it was a ‘stable’ or a cave, what matters to me is that history has proven He was born, He died, and I happen to be convinced He lives and guess what?  Some day I’ll be joining Him!

In time she of turmoil and civil unrest its good to have a rock-solid truth you can hold on to.  Try ‘He will never leave you nor forsake you’ on for size.  Or ‘for God so loved…”. It’s the ‘so’ that gets me every time.  I’m constantly told I take things too literally but I don’t believe God talks in metaphors.  Parables, yes, but not metaphors.

If you’re feeling down He’ll lift your head.  If you’re lonely He’s the friend that sticks closer than a bro.  (If you knew mine you’d understand the significance there.)  If you feel your life is insignificant, He has a future in mind for you, and it’s amazing.

Today and every day, I pray you will prosper and be healthy and live every day you have left in light of the fact that He loves you unconditionally.  It’s a great feeling.

stay blessed and sane,

Kari, the daughter of a Saviour-born-in-a-barn girl

all original content, copyright © 2000, karigraceplace.com, all rights reserved

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

