karigraceplace – A Lighthouse

How do you change your world? One word at a time, one heart at a time

So Not Happening

It’s been a while since I had the chance to blog, and I’m some kind of fired up! My bible says in Colossians 3 verse 12 that we’re to ‘put on’ mercy.  That would imply to me two things; one, it doesn’t come naturally, and two, it’s an active choice.

I got to make that choice just last night. And, hallelujah thank God for growth, I kept my mouth shut.  Yep, that’s major growth for me.  An opportunity to get offended presented itself and I turned it down.  Growth takes a whole lot of dying, but it’s worth it.

For integrity’s sake I’ll share only general details.  Someone had the opportunity to help me, but chose to exert their power and withhold that help.  The ironic thing was, all I was asking was the same courtesy that leader had been extended to a fellow church member just two minutes before.  I realize of course that the leader in question withholding the help was completely unaware of this fact, but I learned a serious lesson.  If God ever puts me in a place of prominence and power I pray I never use it to withhold help from those who ask, but rather, not only to never withhold good but to even have my mind full of ways to be a blessing, according to Galatians 6 verse 10, and to prefer one another more highly than myself, according to Philippians 2 verse 3.

Many years ago I read a quote by a guy whose name I truly wish I could remember because I’d give him credit. He said simply this: a great man shows his greatness by the way he treats little men.  As the years have gone by I’ve meditated on that and though I understand his intent I’ve realized that there are no little men.  My fellow Christian leader acted like they have yet to learn that lesson.  After many interactions with this individual it has become apparent that if the child of God before them is not important (prominent), they are not important (of value to the leader personally).  Which is ok, but that’s not the kind of person or Christian but above all, leader, I want to be.

Hopefully, lesson learned.

How ‘bout you? Any comments?  Seriously.  I’m interested.

Kari, the hopefully-humble-and-definitely-humbled

all original content, copyright © 2000, karigraceplace.com, all rights reserved

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

