karigraceplace – A Lighthouse

How do you change your world? One word at a time, one heart at a time

One Letter

OK, I’m finally ready to stand up and be counted.  But I’ll make it short and sweet, I promise.  Just like me.

Ecclesiastes 3 verse 7 says there’s a time to speak and a time to be silent, and I’m tired of being silent.  He’s the president. Period.  Whether we like him personally or not, whether we agree with his choices two decades ago or not, he’s the leader of the country and we’d better get behind him or we’ll have a fractured nation and we’ll pay a high price for that.

The one little word i have is actually two, depending on which way you swang during the election.  I talked to many, many people around that time, from all cultures, all races, all walks of life, and all economic strata.  For some reason I was exposed to a whole lot of people in my home town I’d never met before, and I did an experiment.  I came to a conclusion I’ve been thinking through and am ready to share.  I hope you still love me when you’re done reading.

If you fell into the category of couldn’t decide/didn’t vote, then my one word is apathy. Please don’t complain about the state of a nation you didn’t try to change.

If you fell into the alternate camp, who I hear about every single day, what my husband calls “the Snowflakes”, folk just plain don’t like it, I have a different word for you; democracy.

As a Christian my life often doesn’t go the way I planned, and many times doesn’t go the way I’d like, but I don’t go round telling everyone it’s not my life.  It is what it is. That’s the thing with democracy – everyone gets to vote.  And sometimes they’re happy with the result and sometimes they’re not.  Just like life.  I don’t have to like something to respect it, and I certainly don’t doubt what I don’t understand.  If I believe God is in charge of my world then I believe He is in charge of every little thing.  People who look for the bad in anything will find it, but they’ll live a very unhappy life.  I’d rather look for the good.  A wise woman once told me, “every place you see “good” in the Bible, take out one oh.”  I got it immediately.  I decided that day to be the kind of person who looked for the GOD in everything, not the bad.  Same word minus one letter, totally different meaning.

So for those folks out there still stewing about the results and telling us he’s not your president I have news for you: yes he is.  But there’s something you can do about it.  In about 4 years.  I just have one request.  Give the guy a chance.  He may be stirring up a lot of hornets nests but let’s wait till the dust settles and see what happens.  He may surprise you yet.  I have faith that God is still in charge of this nation and that He still moves through its leaders.  And I’m looking for the good.  And the God.  You?

Kari, the finally vocal

all original content, copyright © 2000, karigraceplace.com, all rights reserved

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

