karigraceplace – A Lighthouse

How do you change your world? One word at a time, one heart at a time

A Tomb with a View

I love word plays, and will use them any chance I get because it makes a person think more deeply on the idea presented.  Hence the title of today’s humble blog.  Actually, I was given permission to use anything this certain preacher says, any time, something that doesn’t come by very often in life, and I intend to take full advantage of their generosity.  Which led to the borrowed title.  For talking about a borrowed tomb.  One that didn’t stay occupied long.  Seems kind of a waste of a good tomb, but then again, what do I know?

They must agree with Carol Kacmarcik, a dear friend and sista in Christ, who says  – “here’s my copyright rule – copy it and share it.”  So I’m sharing the love.  Since it’s Easter, or Resurrection Sunday as some prefer to call it, I will tell you several things in my life collided lately to create what I can only describe as ‘the perfect storm.’

Being a very devoted lover of the One Who put the stars in place with His fingers and chose to put breath in my body when I was literally born dead, I pretty much celebrate Easter year round.  It drove my kids nuts, poor babies, but I believe wholeheartedly in resurrection of dead things.  Perhaps it takes one to know one.

Ok.  The perfect storm.  It started with one more boss one more time offering a variation of, “thanks but no thanks,” as in goodbye.  Which was kind of a blow because I was giving all I had to give and there was a huge learning curve.  I had one more opportunity to make a choice, to be hurt or trust God that He had something else in store  That’s become my default over the years – do I trust Him, or not?  Circumstances in my life may change but for some reason the choices don’t seem to.

This led to a lot more time on my hands.  Which led to a lot more writing, and a lot more reading.  Even a lot more praying.  Especially for this nation.  I realised when the angel broke the seal on our Saviour’s tomb, he did so much more than roll a stone away.   Now I have a question for you this Easter season, the same one posed to me last week.  Ready?  Here it is: How do you view the tomb?  As horrific death?  Or glorious life?  My honest answer to them was ‘both’.  But being the glass-half-full kind of gal that I am, I’d rather think on the good side than the bad.  I realised there are many folk out there in church all their lives who never get to know the real Jesus,  He’s into relationship, not religion.

That’s what the whole ‘Abba’ thing is about.  Loosely translated it means Daddy.  Not some austere Englishman saying, “Faaahhhhther,, if Thou wilt,” using perfect King James language, dotting all his i’s and crossing all his t’s.  God is a God of hearts and that blesses me so much.  When I’m misunderstood, when I’m let go for no apparent reason, when friends wig out on me, He sees my heart.  When I’m confused or doubting or even joyful to  be alive, He sees.

Like another friend said today when I asked what I could pray for her, “I’m in transition.”  I might well be too.  But I know it’s good.  ‘Cos God is good.  So anything He allows has to eventually work itself out for my good, because He promised it in Romans 8.28 and He never lies.

I encourage you today to give yourself completely to the only true God this universe has ever seen, and see what He’ll do with you.  It might not be easy, or even smooth sailing, but it’ll be good.  I promise.

Kari, the choice-maker

all original content, copyright © 2000, karigraceplace.com, all rights reserved

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

