karigraceplace – A Lighthouse

How do you change your world? One word at a time, one heart at a time

Armor All

I guess you’d have to be a redhead to fully appreciate the way we process stuff, but I often get “ah-ha” moments in the unlikeliest of places. The other week mddm (my dearest darling man) decided to clean our vehicles, and pulled out his trusty Armor All. He did a great job, btw, but I was lost in thought at that point, and this current blog began to emerge.

If you’re in a war you need armor ideally over as much of your body as possible, at minimum enough to cover vital organs. Armor is powerful and a very necessary thing during warfare but sometimes it can be a hindrance. We’re told in Ephesians 6 to ‘put on the whole armor of God’, which tells me God has a specific fit designed for me that’s different than for you.

Saul’s armor don’t fit nobody but Saul! I try to believe others mean well, but it’s a fact of life. 1 Samuel 17 verse 38 says that, “Saul dressed David in his own tunic”, then added armor and a bronze helmet; submitted to his leader, David didn’t question Saul’s decision – however, when David tried to be David in Saul’s armor he couldn’t even walk, let alone fight.

You have two choices. You can accept the status quo and die in stagnation or you can do like Jabez, and pray that God will increase your territory. If you want to possess a thing, logic dictates you’ve got to DISpossess the current owner/occupant of that thing, which usually means warfare. I’ve learned a lot of things in life by doing it the wrong way, and don’t often repeat the lesson.

I know folks mean well, but if a thing’s working for you who cares if it ain’t done the way they’re are doing it? if it ain’t broke it don’t need fixin! God made us all unique and likes us that way.

Can we agree to let me do me and you do you? I’ll love you and support you any way I can, but I give you the freedom to be different and unique and do things the way that works for you.  And I ask the same of you. Agreed?

Kari, the armoured-up-girl

all original content, copyright © 2000, karigraceplace.com, all rights reserved

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

