karigraceplace – A Lighthouse

How do you change your world? One word at a time, one heart at a time

What’s Your Choice, Spear or Harp?

I want to be David so badly but I must admit, I’m often Saul. Interested in what I mean? Keep reading.

David often gets a bad rap. He did so much more than kill a giant and sleep with the wrong girl. He was gut honest with God and he admitted his faults. Unlike Saul.

Let me paint the scene for you. 1 Samuel 19.9 tells of a day when Saul was sitting in his house and decided to do a very strange thing. Sitting’ chillin’ in his pad – well, palace – he has a sword in his hand. Yep. You read that right. Tryin’ to relax, with a weapon in his hand. (That’s kind of a ‘duh’ to me, but hey, whatever floats your boat.)

Here’s the kicker; his mind is tormented to the point where he has no peace. Sittin’ on the couch with a sword in his hand ready for a fight, he has no peace. Ya think? So he decides to send for a musician. ‘Cos he’s figured out that’s the one thing guaranteed to bring him comfort.

Enter David. The sheep whisperer. Who’s been living way out in the fields somewhere, trying to obey his dad. Now he’s summoned to the palace, just trying to obey his king, who’s heard the rumor he can play some serious tunes.

So. Saul has a sword. David has a harp. Saul knows God’s hand had lifted from his life due to his own choices. He also suspects Dave is the replacement. The king has a moment, and attacks God’s newly anointed. Ever been there?

The sword leaves his hand and sticks deep into the wall by Dave’s head. My first question is, “dude, how could ya miss? You’re a king, experienced in battle!” The answer, I’m pretty sure, is, “nothin’ but God.” My next question -“you know he killed a giant, right? If you take aim you’d better make sure you don’t miss.” Yet he does. Why? I strongly suspect the same answer applies.

Dave does the next logical thing; he runs. So now I have another question. Who has the upper hand? In the natural it’s a no-brainer; for a game of Rock Paper Scissors, spear trumps harp every time. But it doesn’t. Next question; will you fight your battles in the natural, or in the spirit? I’ll chose worship, thank you. If I keep my hand on the harp the spear won’t harm you. Worship is stronger than any other weapon. But here’s the thing.

How many times have I? Have I what? Taken my hand off the harp. Let life suck the praise right out of me. Many. Yet God is so patient with me. It’s a new day and You have plans I want to be a part of. This is my prayer not only for me but for you also, dear reader. Simple, but heartfelt. Lord help us to keep my hand on the harp, and learn how to duck. When we bow to You we can face any king. And any thing.

Your thoughts?

Kari, the harp-chooser

all original content, copyright © 2000, karigraceplace.com, all rights reserved

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment